in

How to See Blocked Messages on iPhone

If you’re like most people, you probably have a few people on your iPhone contact list that you don’t want to talk to. Maybe they’re a former flame, or maybe they just drive you crazy. Or, they were once your ally, and now they’re not. Whatever the reason, there are times when you need to block someone’s text messages from reaching your iPhone.

Apples make it easy to block someone from sending you text messages or contacting you. But what if you like to witness the messages they’re sending you while they’re blocked? In this write-up, we’ll demonstrate to you how to do just that.

Can You See Blocked Messages on iPhone?

First, it’s essential to apprehend that you cannot see any texts sent to you while you have someone blocked. That includes group texts, iMessage, or even regular SMS texts. When you block someone, their messages will not arrive on your phone. As a result, the messages will never be stored on your device and show up in your blocked messages inbox.

If you like to see the messages sent to you while you have someone blocked, you will require to unblock them first. Only then will their real-time messages appear in your inbox. You cannot see the old messages.

If you like to see the messages someone sent to you before blocking them, then, fortunately, you can do that. All the messages someone sent to your iPhone before they were obstructed will still be stored on your phone. You can locate them in your regular inbox.

To see the messages someone sent you before blocking them, simply go to your inbox and search for their name or number. If you can’t remember their name or number, you can try looking through your old text messages to find them.

Of course, this only performs if you haven’t deleted the text messages already. Even if you delete the message before blocking them, it will still be stored in your iPhone’s backup, and you might be able to retrieve it from iCloud.

Also Read: How to Do a Voiceover on Tiktok

How to Retrieve Blocked Messages on iPhone Using iCloud

If you’ve deleted the text message from your iPhone before blocking the contact, you can still retrieve it by looking in your iCloud backup. To do this, you require to restore the stored message data from an iCloud backup.

Step 1: Browse iCloud.com using a web browser from your mobile or computer.

Step 2: Log in with your iCloud credentials (Apple ID) that operate on your iPhone.

Step 3: Find and choose the Text Messages you need to rescue.

Step 4: After that, get back to the iCloud Settings on your iPhone. Then switch off “Messages” backup.

Step 5: Once you press the button, a popup will show up asking you to download the existing iCloud message backup on your iPhone.

Step 6: You can pick Disable and Download to confirm.

Please note that this stops you from backing up your new messages to iCloud. You can turn it back on after downloading the messages you want from iCloud. Just follow the same method till step 3 and turn on the switch next to “Messages” in step 4.

Also Read: How to Send a Voice Message on iPhone

How to Unblock Messages on Your iPhone

If you want to view the texts someone sends you while they are blocked, you must unblock them first. Only then will their messages appear in your inbox. Unblocking someone is easy to do and only takes a few steps.

Step 1: Browse your iPhone’s Settings app and select Phone.

Step 2: Under the Phone tab, press “Call Blocking & Identification.”

Step 3: You will witness all the contacts you have blocked on your iPhone.

Step 4: To unblock someone, simply swipe the number to the left and then click “Unblock.”

Step 5: Once you do so, the contact will be unblocked for both phone calls and text messages.

Keep in mind that unblocking someone does not automatically include them to your contact list. You will require to re-add them as a contact if you like to do that. And If you want to prevent someone from calling or texting you in the future, you will need to block them again.

Conclusion

Blocking someone on your iPhone is a great way to reduce spammy phone calls and texts. However, it’s important to know that you will not be able to see any messages they sent to you while they were blocked. However, if you want to see the messages, they sent before they were blocked or after you unblock them, that is possible. You can make use of the method we described above to do so.

What do you think?